Afterlyfe is a service which will store your past year's worth of posts to Twitter. Upon your eventual death, your last year's worth of tweets will be sent out on the anniversary of that tweet...every year. For eternity.* This behavior mimics the behavior of ghosts which have been reported to repeat the same actions before they died. In this manner, your own "ghost" will haunt the Internet for eternity.
* Note: "eternity" may actually be "until Twitter stops working".
No. That would be pretty annoying (and possibly traumatic) to those people to be getting your messages sent to them every year. We will not access your direct messages. Although there will not be any @replies, people may still see themselves mentioned in your updates. (There are options to filter out @ mentions in Account Settings.)
There are options on how to handle retweets in Account Settings.
One of two methods:
First of all, congratulations! If you are later discovered to be alive (after being lost at sea, missing in action, etc.), it's possible for us to reset your account and start storing your status updates again. However, an account reset requires the involvement from the site's staff. Please contact us directly. We will only deactivate an actively tweeting Afterlyfe account once, so please don't keep dying and coming back to life and asking us to reset it.
Yes, if you want them to be able to. If you've given them permission to do so, the executor of your estate can freely enable or disable your ghost as often as they would like. This option is available in the event anyone in your family or some close friends find it to be traumatic for your "ghost" to continue online.
You have the option to have it automatically re-enabled after a few years. If you select this option, even if the executor of your estate has disabled your "ghost", it will restart a few years later on its own and they cannot stop it. That, of course, assumes that Twitter (and your account) is still operating after that long.
There are five things Twitter says we'll have access to via the Twitter API. We'll explain each one here:
No. What you sent out originally is exactly what will be sent out every year after you have passed on. Nobody will have editorial control over your "ghost" and no new updates can be added. (...except for the ability to filter out @ mentions.)
Your ghost must have been a real jerk. Sorry, if you're banned or your account disappears, there's nothing we can do. A Twitter ban will also end your Afterlyfe account.
No. Anyone found to be using our service to send out spam will be removed from our system and permanently banned without refund. Spammers can die in a fire and go to Hell.
If you haven't posted to Twitter in almost a year, we'll e-mail you a reminder to check in to Afterlyfe to prevent your account from declaring you "deceased" and having Afterlyfe take over your Twitter feed. If you wish to deactivate Afterlyfe, you can do so in the Account Settings.
If you don't have access to your account, you should take that up with Twitter. We can't get you your Twitter access back.
At some point, perhaps in the distant future or maybe just a year from now, it's likely that Twitter will cease to exist. Perhaps they were bought out and the company that purchased them shut them down. Perhaps a better service came along and put them out of business. We will continually evolve the Afterlyfe service to add compatibility for future services, but if Twitter doesn't migrate your account to a new platform and discontinues the service, that would be the end of your ghost. Also, if Twitter shuts down API access, there would no longer be any way for use to post updates to your account.
Our condolences. In this scenario, we may not have an entire year of your data available to send out, but we will send what we can.
Prices have not been announced. We will start with a free trial period and not collect any payment information. It will likely be a very, very low yearly payment. Cheaper than a burger. After your death, you no longer need to make any payments and the service will continue posting your old tweets free of charge.
Only within the first 30 days after your first payment and assuming your account has not been activated due to your reported death. If you deactivate your account, we are unable to refund any unused portion of your payment.
If you die within 365 days after a February 29th, the tweets from that day will only be sent out every four years. Otherwise, no posts will be made on February 29th.
Unfollow them, mute them, or block them. Problem solved.
We're not planning one. Not everything needs an app. Our web site is compatible with mobile devices.
Blame Brian. He wants to haunt the Internet forever.
Nobody's making you. Also, that's not a question.
That's the plan. We'll send out your tweets for eternity.*
* ...or, as we said earlier, "until Twitter stops working".
When it's ready.